Biomarkers · Chemical
Neurofilament Light Chain
- Primary unit
- pg/mL
- LOINC codes
- 101281-4
- Tests that measure Neurofilament Light Chain
- Labcorp 4, Quest Diagnostics 1
Ranges
Each lab publishes a reference range for the population groups it tests, usually the middle 95% of results. These intervals describe that population, not an optimal or healthy target. How ranges differ
Labcorp, Neurofilament Light Chain, Serum 140455
| Population | Interval |
|---|---|
| >79 y | 0.00–9.13 |
| 70 to 79 y | 0.00–6.04 |
| 60 to 69 y | 0.00–3.65 |
| 50 to 59 y | 0.00–2.99 |
| 40 to 49 y | 0.00–1.69 |
| 30 to 39 y | 0.00–1.49 |
| 20 to 29 y | 0.00–1.30 |
| 15 to 19 y | 0.00–1.26 |
| 10 to 14 y | 0.00–1.13 |
| 5 to 9 y | 0.00–1.30 |
| 0 to 4 y | 0.00–1.56 |
| Age (y) | (pg/mL) |
Labcorp, Neurofilament Light Chain, Plasma 140555
| Population | Interval |
|---|---|
| 50 to 59 y | 0.00–2.99 |
| >79 y | 0.00–9.13 |
| 70 to 79 y | 0.00–6.04 |
| 60 to 69 y | 0.00–3.65 |
| 40 to 49 y | 0.00–1.69 |
| 30 to 39 y | 0.00–1.49 |
| 20 to 29 y | 0.00–1.30 |
| 15 to 19 y | 0.00–1.26 |
| 10 to 14 y | 0.00–1.13 |
| 5 to 9 y | 0.00–1.30 |
| 0 to 4 y | 0.00–1.56 |
| Age (y) | (pg/mL) |
Quest Diagnostics, Neurofilament Light Chain (NfL) 13979
| Population | Interval |
|---|---|
| <20 years | Not established |
| ≥80 years | <7.05 pg/mL |
| 70-79 years | <5.27 pg/mL |
| 60-69 years | <3.86 pg/mL |
| 50-59 years | <2.21 pg/mL |
| 40-49 years | <2.34 pg/mL |
| 30-39 years | <1.29 pg/mL |
| 20-29 years | <1.17 pg/mL |
Tests
Check the catalog code, specimen, method and preparation for every test that measures Neurofilament Light Chain. Select up to five tests to compare them side by side.
Labcorp 4 tests
Single-analyte tests
Neurofilament Light Chain, Plasma 140555
Plasma · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 1 - 3 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Roche Diagnostics Electrochemiluminescence Immunoassay (ECLIA)
- Collection
- Separate plasma and transfer specimen to a plastic transport tube.
Neurofilament Light Chain, Serum 140455
Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 1 - 3 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Roche Diagnostics Electrochemiluminescence Immunoassay (ECLIA)
- Collection
- If a red-top tube is used, transfer separated serum to a plastic transport tube.
Panels that include this biomarker
Multiple Sclerosis Monitoring Profile 484495
2 analytes · Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 1 - 3 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Roche Diagnostics Electrochemiluminescence Immunoassay (ECLIA)
- Collection
- If a red-top tube is used, transfer separated serum to a plastic transport tube.
ATN Profile 484400
4 analytes · Plasma · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 7 - 10 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Sysmex chemiluminescence enzyme immunoassay (CLEIA) and Roche Diagnostics electrochemiluminescence immunoassay (ECLIA)
- Collection
- Draw two full lavender-top (EDTA) tubes of blood. Separate plasma from blood via centrifugation (>1500g for 10 minutes) within 40 minutes after blood collection. Transfer plasma to two Labcorp polypropylene transport tubes and seal.
Quest Diagnostics 1 test
Single-analyte tests
Neurofilament Light Chain (NfL) 13979
Plasma · Fasting not stated · Turnaround Set up: Mon, Wed-Sat
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Immunoassay (IA)
- Preparation
- Patients should be cautioned to stop biotin consumption at least 72 hours prior to collection of a sample
- Collection
- Draw blood in an EDTA (lavender-top) tube. Invert to mix with preservatives. Centrifuge and transfer plasma to a labeled plastic transport tube.
0 of 5 tests selected
Pick one moreSources
Check the guidelines, studies and lab catalogs behind every range and link on this page. Open a source to see each claim it backs.
Lab catalogs
Labcorp test menu
Labcorp
Test catalog: 4 tests, with codes, specimens, methods and reference intervals
Quest Diagnostics test menu
Quest Diagnostics
Test catalog: 1 tests, with codes, specimens, methods and reference intervals
Codes and registries
LOINC 101281-4
Regenstrief Institute codes that identify the same result across labs.
Search ClinicalTrials.gov for Neurofilament Light Chain
Registered studies that measure Neurofilament Light Chain, on the U.S. National Library of Medicine registry.
Verify these ranges and sources
We compile this page from named laboratory catalogs, guidelines and studies. Labs calculate reference intervals from the people they test, for one assay method and one population group, so an interval describes that population rather than an optimal target.
Interpret your own results with a licensed clinician, or track your lab history and health goals in Aumnivida.
Spotted an error? Email hello@biomarkerlens.com with the page URL and the primary source that corrects the entry.