Biomarkers · Chemical
Vitamin D
A vitamin D test measures the levels of vitamin D in your blood. Vitamin D helps your body absorb calcium to build healthy bones and teeth.
- Also listed as
- calcidiol, vitamin d 25-hydroxy, 25-oh vitamin d, 25-hydroxy vitamin d, Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy
- Primary unit
- ng/mL
- LOINC codes
- 62292-8
- Tests that measure Vitamin D
- Quest Diagnostics 8, Labcorp 7
Ranges
Compare the reference ranges labs publish with guideline targets, diagnostic cut-offs, study-based ranges and practitioner targets. Move across the rows to check a value against each range, and open a source from the legend. How to read these ranges
Vitamin D, ng/mL
- Lab reference ranges2 labs
- IOM 2011 level covering 97.5% of the population20 and above
- Diagnostic cut-offs5 cut-offs
All 8 published ranges, with sources
Lab reference ranges
Quest, adults30 to 100 ng/mL
All ages
Quest Diagnostics Test Directory, Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy, Total, Immunoassay (17306), 2025
Labcorp, all ages20 to 100 ng/mL
All ages
Labcorp changed the lower limit from 30 to 20.0 ng/mL in its September 2026 page update.
Diagnostic cut-offs
NIH ODS, associated with deficiencybelow 12 ng/mL
General population
Below 30 nmol/L (12 ng/mL).
Vitamin D: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2025
NIH ODS, inadequate12 to 20 ng/mL
General population
30 to below 50 nmol/L (12 to below 20 ng/mL).
Vitamin D: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2025
IOM 2011 potential adverse effects50 ng/mL and above
General population
Above 50 ng/mL (125 nmol/L) should raise concern about potential adverse effects.
Endocrine Society 2011 deficiencybelow 20 ng/mL
Adults
Deficiency below 20 ng/mL (50 nmol/L). Superseded: the Endocrine Society 2024 guideline (PMID 38828931) no longer endorses specific thresholds.
Endocrine Society 2011 insufficiency21 to 29 ng/mL
Adults
Insufficiency 21 to 29 ng/mL. Superseded: the Endocrine Society 2024 guideline (PMID 38828931) no longer endorses specific thresholds.
Guideline targets
IOM 2011 level covering 97.5% of the population20 ng/mL and above
General population
20 ng/mL (50 nmol/L) covers the requirements of at least 97.5% of the population.
Tests
Check the catalog code, specimen, method and preparation for every test that measures Vitamin D. Select up to five tests to compare them side by side.
Quest Diagnostics 8 tests
Single-analyte tests
Cardio IQ® Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy 91735
Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround Set up: Daily
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry
- Preparation
- Fasting preferred, but not required
- Collection
- Collect blood in a standard red-top serum Vacutainer® tube. Allow blood to clot at room temperature. Centrifuge and separate the serum from the cells immediately. Alternatively, collect blood in a Serum separator tube (SST), allow to clot at room temperature. Centrifuge and remove from the gel within 48 hours.
- Reference notes
- Vitamin D, 25-OH, Total 30-100 ng/mL 25-OHD3 indicates both endogenous production and supplementation. 25-OHD2 is an indicator of exogenous sources, such as diet or supplementation. Therapy is based on measurement of Total 25-OHD, with levels <20 ng/mL indicative of Vitamin D deficiency, while levels between 20 ng/mL and 30 ng/mL suggest insufficiency. Optimal levels are ≥30 ng/mL. Vitamin D, 25-OH, D3 Not established Vitamin D, 25-OH, D2 Not established
QuestAssureD™ 25-Hydroxyvitamin D (D2, D3) 92888
Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround Set up: Daily; Report available: 2 days
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry
- Preparation
- Fasting preferred, but not required
- Collection
- Collect blood in a standard red-top serum Vacutainer® tube. Allow blood to clot at room temperature. Centrifuge and separate the serum from the cells immediately. Alternatively, collect blood in a serum separator tube (SST), allow to clot at room temperature. Centrifuge and remove from the gel within 48 hours.
- Reference notes
- Vitamin D, 25-OH, Total 30-100 ng/mL Vitamin D, 25-OH, D3 Not established Vitamin D, 25-OH, D2 Not established
QuestAssureD™ for Infants, 25-Hydroxyvitamin D 91935
Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround Set up: Daily
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry
- Preparation
- Fasting specimens are preferred but not required
- Collection
- Collect blood in a standard red-top serum Vacutainer® tube. Allow blood to clot at room temperature. Centrifuge and separate the serum from the cells immediately. Alternatively, collect blood in a serum separator tube (SST) at room temperature, centrifuge and remove from the gel within 48 hours.
- Reference notes
- Vitamin D, 25-OH, Total 30-100 ng/mL Vitamin D, 25-OH, D3 Not established Vitamin D, 25-OH, D2 Not established
Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy, Total, Immunoassay 17306
Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround Set up: Tues-Sat; Report available: 4 days
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Immunoassay (IA)
- Preparation
- Fasting preferred, but not required
- Reference notes
- 30-100 ng/mL
Panels that include this biomarker
Calcitriol 1,25-Dihydroxyvitamin D 16558
3 analytes · Serum · Fasting not stated
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry
- Collection
- Allow blood to clot (30 minutes) at room temperature. Centrifuge and separate the serum from the cells and transfer serum to a clean transport tube.
- Reference notes
- Vitamin D, 1,25 (OH)2, Total 1-9 Years 31-87 pg/mL 10-13 Years 30-83 pg/mL 14-17 Years 19-83 pg/mL Adult 18-72 pg/mL Vitamin D3, 1,25 (OH)2 Not available Vitamin D2, 1,25 (OH)2 Not available Reference ranges are established for total 1,25-dihydroxy vitamin D. Values for subcomponents D2 (derived from plant or fungal sources) and D3 (derived from human or animal sources) are provided for informational purposes only.
Post COVID-19 Panel 11454
5 analytes · See individual tests · Fasting not stated
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- See individual tests
- Reference notes
- See individual tests
Post COVID-19 Expanded Panel 11453
7 analytes · See individual tests · Fasting not stated
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- See individual tests
- Reference notes
- See individual tests
Diabetes, Advancing Chronic Kidney Disease Management Panel 91713
13 analytes · Serum · Fasting not stated
Quest Diagnostics catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- See individual tests
- Preparation
- Patient should fast 9-12 hours prior to collection
- Collection
- Whole blood: Maintain specimen at room temperature. Do not refrigerate. If multiple draw, collect EDTA (lavender-top) tube last. Traumatic draw can introduce thromboplastin and trap WBC and platelets. Refrigeration can precipitate fibrin and trap WBC and platelets. Plasma: Centrifuge and transfer EDTA plasma to a transport tube. Label as PLASMA for the PTH, Intact. Note: If drawn with lead testing, EDTA (tan-top) is required.
- Reference notes
- See individual tests
Labcorp 7 tests
Single-analyte tests
Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy 081950
Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround Within 1 day
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Immunochemiluminometric assay (ICMA). This assay is performed on the DiaSorin LIAISON® instrument in multiple laboratories throughout LabCorp. This highly automated test measures both D2 and D3 together and reports a total 25-hydroxy vitamin D. Major clinical studies, including (but not limited to) the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) data base, the Women's Health Initiative (WHI) Studies, and the Harvard-Based Health Professionals Studies, employed DiaSorin reagents.
- Collection
- If tube other than a gel-barrier tube is used, transfer separated serum to a plastic transport tube.
- Reference notes
- 20.0−100.0 ng/mL
Panels that include this biomarker
25-Hydroxy Vitamin D (D2+D3 Fractionated), LC/MS-MS 504115
2 analytes · Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 4 - 10 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- Liquid chromatography/tandem mass spectrometry (LC/MS-MS)
- Collection
- Serum or plasma must be separated from cells within 45 minutes of venipuncture. Submit serum or plasma in a plastic transport tube.
Pre-Bariatric Surgery Micronutrient Profile 259104
9 analytes · Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 2 - 4 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- See individual test components.
Post-Bariatric Surgery Micronutrient Profile 259129
33 analytes · Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 3 - 5 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- See individual test components.
Post-Bariatric Surgery Comprehensive Profile 259090
50 analytes · Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 5 - 7 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- See individual test components.
Pre-Bariatric Surgery Comprehensive Profile 259141
50 analytes · Serum · Fasting not stated · Turnaround 5 - 7 days
Labcorp catalog pageMethod and collection
- Method
- See individual test components.
0 of 5 tests selected
Pick one moreGoals and conditions
We link Vitamin D to these goals and conditions from named guidelines and studies.
Energy and fatigueGoal, companion marker
NICE leaves vitamin D to clinical judgement as an additional test when ME/CFS is suspected.
Vitamin D and boneGoal, primary marker
The Royal Osteoporosis Society measures serum 25(OH)D to assess vitamin D status, without preliminary surrogate tests.
Vitamin D deficiencyCondition, ICD-10 E55.9, primary marker
The Endocrine Society 2011 guideline defined vitamin D deficiency as 25(OH)D below 20 ng/mL (50 nmol/L).
Sources
7 tests: codes, specimens, methods, preparation and reference intervals.
Quest Diagnostics test catalog
8 tests: codes, specimens, methods, preparation and reference intervals.
Government source: Range: IOM 2011 level covering 97.5% of the population, Range: IOM 2011 potential adverse effects
Vitamin D: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals, NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2025
Government source: Range: NIH ODS, associated with deficiency, Range: NIH ODS, inadequate
Clinical guideline: Range: Endocrine Society 2011 deficiency, Range: Endocrine Society 2011 insufficiency, Vitamin D deficiency (primary)
Clinical guideline: Energy and fatigue (companion)
Clinical guideline: Vitamin D and bone (primary)
Labcorp test menu, Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy (081950), 2026
Laboratory catalog: Range: Labcorp, all ages
Quest Diagnostics Test Directory, Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy, Total, Immunoassay (17306), 2025
Laboratory catalog: Range: Quest, adults
MedlinePlus, National Library of Medicine
The description at the top of this page.
LOINC 62292-8
Regenstrief Institute codes that identify the same result across labs.
Search ClinicalTrials.gov for Vitamin D
Registered studies that measure Vitamin D, on the U.S. National Library of Medicine registry.
Verify these ranges and sources
We compile this page from named laboratory catalogs, guidelines and studies. Labs calculate reference intervals from the people they test, for one assay method and one population group, so an interval describes that population rather than an optimal target.
Interpret your own results with a licensed clinician, or track your lab history and health goals in Aumnivida.
Spotted an error? Email hello@biomarkerlens.com with the page URL and the primary source that corrects the entry.